Beginning December 31, 2013, changes will be coming to the minimum wage level for many states. Defined by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the federal minimum wage is set at $7.25. However, the federal minimum wage level does not supersede any state or local laws. This means that if a state’s minimum wage is higher than federal minimum wage, the state’s wage law must be honored by employers.
Changes will be made to the minimum wage for the following states:
State minimum wage changes effective December 31, 2013
- New York: $8.00 per hour
State minimum wage changes effective January 1, 2014
- Arizona: $7.90 per hour
- Connecticut: $8.70 per hour
- Florida: $7.93 per hour
- Missouri: $7.50 per hour
- Montana: $7.90 per hour
- New Jersey: $8.25 per hour
- Ohio: $7.95 per hour for businesses with annual gross receipts in excess of $292,000 per year.
- Oregon: $9.10 per hour
- Rhode Island: $8.00 per hour
- Vermont: $8.73 per hour
- Washington: $9.32 per hour
State minimum wage changes effective July 1, 2014
- California: $9.00 per hour
FLSA requires that minimum wage must be paid for all hours worked, including an overtime rate after 40 hours a week.
Do you have questions about how minimum wage changes will affect you? Contact your HR advocate at firstname.lastname@example.org.